News News

Council leader to be announced

Fri 6 May 2016, 11:11 am

Harrow’s new council leader will be decided later this month, following the announcement that Councillor David Perry is to step down from the role.

Perry was replaced as Labour leader by Councillor Sachin Shah in April. A decision on the new council leader will be put to a vote at a full meeting of the council on 19 May.

The council is made up of 34 Labour councillors, 26 Conservatives, two independents and one Liberal Democrat.

Shah was first elected as a ward councillor for Queensbury in 2010 and currently holds the portfolio for finance and major contracts.

As the BIG magazine newsletter went to press, votes were being counted in the election of a London Assembly member for Brent and Harrow. 

The candidates are as follows:

Labour: Navin Shah

Conservative: Joel Davidson

Green Party: Jafar Hassan

Liberal Democrats: Anton Georgiou

UK Independence Party: Rathy Alagaratnam

UPDATE 9 May 2016: Navin Shah was re-elected as the London Assembly member for Brent and Harrow on Friday 6 May. He received 79,902 votes (45%), 20,755 more than his nearest rival, Conservative Party councillor Joel Davidson, who polled 59,147 votes (33%).


If you are interested in reading more about Harrow, subscribe to our newsletter

Privacy policy